A simple program to protect your eyes

By applying 20–20–20 rules

Jimmy (xiaoke) Shen
2 min readFeb 24, 2021

Why we should protect our eyes?

As a coder, I am watching the screen for more than 8 hours a day. I believe that I will be blind one day if I do not protect my eyes.

20–20–20 rules

There is a golden 20–20–20 rule:

The rule says that for every 20 minutes spent looking at a screen, a person should look at something 20 feet away for 20 seconds. From [1]

I search online and can not find a free reminder app for MAC. So I prepare a simple code to remind me. Basically what the code doing is reminding me every 20 minutes by popping up my favorite photos. You can add some reminder messages from some original images. I am adding some notes by using google drawing.

Remind image 1 for me

Img1 from my repo

Remind image 2 for me

Img2 from my repo

I put those images in my repo, so you can use them to have a quick test and replace them with your favorite images directly.

How to download and use the code

You can get the source code from my GitHub repo here.

You can also download from the terminal:

git clone https://github.com/liketheflower/eye_protector.git

After downloading, follow the readme and then you will know how to use it.

Reference

[1]https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/321536

--

--